Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram


Meet the Winners of the MountainBikeNI Awards!


It’s been an extremely successful year for Castlewellan Mountain Bike Trails and their associated businesses following multiple successes in this year’s MountainBikeNI Awards, sponsored by Chain Reaction Cycles, as voted for by members of the public.

After years of dominance by Rostrevor MTB Trails, Castlewellan took several of the major categories including “Trail Centre of the Year’ and ‘Favourite Trail Section’.

Now in its fifth year, the awards celebrate the best of mountain biking in Northern Ireland. In addition to the various mountain bike trail accolades, there was also an award for “Favourite Trailhead Provider.”

Life Adventure Centre, a specialist outdoor company who provide bike hire at Castlewellan Mountain Bike Trails, as well as a variety of other activities were crowned the winner.

Castlewellan also had successes in Favourite Trailhead Provider which was won by Life Adventure Centre, Favourite MTB Friendly Café, taken by Urban Coffee, Castlewellan and the all important Favourite Spot for an Apres Ride Pint saw Maginns of Castlewellan also win the most votes.

Given the high standard and sheer variety of mountain biking events which take place each year in Northern Ireland, the award for “Best MTB Event” was highly sought after. The biggest event to take place and ultimately the winner in this category, was the Red Bull Foxhunt. Attracting 450 riders to race against several world champion riders, 2017 proved another hugely successful year for the iconic event at Rostrevor.

Blessingbourne Estate, a historic family owned site with a range of luxurious accommodation and 12km of mountain bike trails took home ‘Favourite MTB-Friendly accommodation for the seconded year in a row. 

The final award was our newest and incredibly, despite hundreds of votes, ended in a draw between Donal McKendry and Sam Thompson as both men were awarded the ‘Volunteer of the Year Award.’

If you’re interested in reading more about the awards and each of our winners, visit our blog here.

Sign Up